The one that got away

A Yankee in Paris

I lost a horse once.  It was both heartbreaking, devastating, and alarming – but more importantly, I had absolutely no idea how to solve the problem.  He was gone from the equine stratosphere, and no amount of internet or Facebook searches led me to his re-discovery.  To compound my grief and disparity, I was tightly linked to his breeder, his race owner, and his trainer.  I knew his every connection, and had great respect for each.  And yet I knew that if he did resurface, and resurfaced in a less than ideal location, it would be each of them that would catch the heat – not me. More importantly, not the people that put him directly there.

Natty came into my life as I was managing Hinkle Farms.  He had been bred by the farm, and they had kept him after he was scratched from the sales at Keeneland due…

View original post 2,180 more words

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Apr 23, 2016 @ 09:06:42

    It’s so funny that you posted this today…I was thinking of you and Lucky earlier this week and was going to write to say hello and say how you both are.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:40:23

      Oh, we’re pretty good! He’s basically semi-retired, toodleing around the farm and hanging with his goat peeps–I have a Lamancha wether from the 4-H auction and a nanny who used to belong to my neighbors and they think they’re a herd! So basically he’s living like Eldaafer down at Old Friends, though my goats do not have creative names like Google and Yahoo. He was terrible the other day–Dad ate a peppermint lifesaver before he went to turn them out, and Lucky refused to leave the barn until he got a peppermint! He smelled mint, he wasn’t going anywhere until he got some! I think he enjoys leading a very boring existence and wandering around fields. (Not a big fan of the horse-eating 10″ deep drainage channel in the woods, though!) He even made another convert–my cousin came out to visit a couple years ago and (despite being the first and so far only person to come off him, when a huge piece of farm equipment came barreling down the road by the corral) she managed to convince her mother she NEEDED riding lessons, and now she’s a working student!

      And meanwhile I’m in the other end of racing. In two partnerships, Blue Skies and Dark Horse. Blue Skies owns a percentage of Metaboss, and I’m biting my nails as he’s with Michael Dickinson now and should be having his first start back soon! Lucky is very happy to leave the running-fast thing to other people, but even he might like Tapeta Farms-there’s enough turf track for everyone.

      Reply

  2. Teresa
    Apr 24, 2016 @ 20:22:24

    So great! Love hearing this, and congrats on your ownership! That’s so exciting. He will always have a special spot in my heart, and I swear one of these days I’ll get to meet the two of you.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:03:37

      You can always come visit and go for a ride! My casual goal, too, is to get him driving. It would be really fun to take him to work at Michigan’s Heritage Park, where I’m an interpreter, and do driving demonstrations! Though that’s a ways off for the park, too, we’re slowly working our way up the livestock ladder, starting with chickens this year.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

