Cowboy Lucky

I'm an old cowhand...

Here is Lucky, fitted out in the barrel saddle. I tried it out yesterday with a borrowed pad and this morning stopped at Tractor Supply for a pad and off-side latigo (and sunflower seed, heaven help we run out of that at home, the birds would raid the house.) I also I’m sure looked like a nut, standing there using my cell-phone calculator to figure out which of the biotin supplements was cheapest per dose. I ended up with one that comes in a five-pound blue bag, which is forty days’ supply, which also has selenium and other minerals. Yesterday we tried a little work with neck-reining with the hunt saddle on him, which obviously makes it a lot easier to use legs and seat. Today, I at times had the feeling he was catching on. It will take some more fiddling, I’m sure. I’m debating trying him in a hackamore, as he has a small mouth and is fussy about bits.

Of course, it’s hard to accomplish much when the bugs make it impossible to stay out for long. We had a brief cold snap, but it wasn’t enough to cause a frost or take care of the incessant fly problem. They’ve all acquired their own flocks of cowbirds following them around the pasture, and it doesn’t take long before Lucky is head-shaking, kicking, and stopping to bite at himself. Nothing slows them down, not the chemicals or the homemade sprays. I cannot wait for a really solid cold snap.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fordtraktor
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 09:49:35

    He looks wonderful! Too cute!!!!

    Reply

  2. The Author
    Sep 14, 2011 @ 10:45:02

    Thank YOU for the saddle! It will work, while we’re sorting this whole western thing out. And it did clean up quite nicely, though there are some spots I think I’m going to have to take a toothbrush to.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

