Room For One More?

So there’s an empty stall at the barn. And the B.O. asks me on occasion, “Found your second horse yet?” In the winter time, when weather and lack of daylight make it hard to deal with one horse in any detail, it’s easy to brush it off. The days are getting longer, though, and the snow’s melting enough to make riding faster than a walk feasible, and there is that empty stall, which is of course begging to be filled. And when it’s Sunday, and there’s really no need to rush, and Lucky’s only fit enough for twenty minutes (that grass verge in the big ring is on an incline, so we’re doing some incline training–he should just be happy it’s not any steeper) it feels like there’s plenty of time. Though I’m not sure I could survive being buried in that much more horse hair. The yak is shedding out, and his mane is getting long, though I gave him a racing clip for the bridle path last week. (Yes, I like the look when it’s half down the neck, so sue me.) Though looking at Clancy’s horse in “The Man From Snowy River” tonight I still keep thinking I ought to just roach the whole thing. He won’t care and if I don’t like it, it will grow back. Plenty of time for that.

There’s also plenty of horses for window-shopping. For some reason (probably the price), I found myself looking at this one last night. Someone, please tell me I have not been drinking the racing Kool-Aid and that horse actually is fat? I mean, I opened the link and my reaction was “Fattie fattie two-by-four, can’t get through the feed room door.” Yet, I find him oddly appealing. Partially, I”m sure because he’s a chestnut. No more bays, really. I swear. At least no more totally unmarked bays with no white on them.

And of course, there is always craigslist. Though I have to admit, some of the people around here have somewhat optimistic appraisals of what their “could be finished for anything you want!” horse. Not a lot of total freebies, though there are some that tug at you. Like this guy, who at twenty might still have get up and go, but really, people. Or, up near my parents you have the could-be-worses, the reasonably-priced, and the…what now?

Gold star, though to this ad. I think that is first craigslist ad I’ve ever seen that references HYPP status (and N/N to boot.)

And on craigslist, there’s also the ducks. I’m trying to keep myself out of Tractor Supply until chicks-and-ducks-time is over, but the prices on craigslist always seem so reasonable . . . and the fat corgi does need something to herd. Besides the cats, anyway.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jae
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:14:30

    Check out Brenda Estes on Facebook. She shows videos and photos of all the OTTBs she has up for adoption.

    The chestnut R Quiet Riot looks fat, but I wonder if he has parasites. His neck looks a little thin for that belly. I also wonder about the person who listed him. S/he can’t know that much about horses if they state that this horse is “out of” Real Quiet. R. Quiet Riot does look like a sweetie, though.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:44:28

      Dial-up–no video here. Also, I don’t do adoptions anyway, only purchases with instant full title. Too many horses around one can just buy outright to mess with adoptions and contracts and references.

      I’m thinking that the “out of” (I hate that) has to be whoever’s writing the CANTER KY ads, since all the ads that mention sires say “out of.” Some people on COTH have used it and it drives me nuts. It’s not even logical!

      His neck just looks normal to me, like he hasn’t been working (but then I never mind the thin necks on racehorses and think all the show hunters look obese, so….) Lucky’s got a skinny neck, but not nearly that much of a hay belly, and he’s wormed. Of course he’s one of the types where you have to pour food into him for him to not look ribby. I’d like to know who figured that Riot likes pizza and glazed doughnuts. (And what kind of pizza? Pepperoni? Mushroom and olives?)

      Reply

      • Jae
        Mar 07, 2011 @ 13:40:50

        I don’t think Brenda is that formal with the adoptions. She just wants to hook up the right horse with the right person. I don’t believe she has forms and references and contracts, not like CANTER. She is in Oregon, but has deals with shippers who ship all over the place.

        I love the image of your Corgi herding ducks. My french bulldog loves to herd the Canada Geese out of the park and into the pond, where they belong, in her opinion.

      • The Author
        Mar 07, 2011 @ 18:42:06

        Can you bulldog come visit the cornfields around here? The buggers didn’t even migrate this year! (I know we’re SOUTHERN Michigan, but that is not what ‘flying south’ is supposed to mean!)

        Tucker has a great time up at Mom and Dad’s clearing the wild turkeys off the birdfeeders–there’s a flock of varying sizes that basically descends like Ghengis Khan and the Mongol horde and eats everything in sight, but they haven’t seemed to figure out they outnumber the dog! (Puff, the Aussie mix, wanted to chase them a half-mile to the property line once, but we called him back.)

  2. Allison
    Mar 06, 2011 @ 21:53:54

    I have horses and ducks at the barn. I got the ducks as pets because they relax me. I waited for years to be able to get them (was busy having babies) after we moved to our farm. Plus I like the way they are so active and DO stuff like play in the water and socialize so obviously together.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Mar 06, 2011 @ 23:23:42

      Enabler! 😀 I’ve been thinking of runner ducks, actually. They’re even used in some herding trials in place of sheep, they’d keep the bugs and plants down a bit, and it would give the corgi something to herd besides cats. (She herds my parents’ barn cats into the barn when we visit. All my cats are indoor-only, so I can only assume she figures cats shouldn’t be outside and she needs to put them away.)

      Reply

  3. Louise
    Mar 07, 2011 @ 13:23:19

    I have heard that runner ducks can be a bit on the spooky side. Take a look at the Cayuga ducks http://www.efowl.com/Cayuga_Duck_p/1028.htm
    I have been coveting them for months now, but can’t have fowl where I live and would love to live vicariously through you.

    And, ahem, we’ll be back at Finger Lakes in May. Jared has been known to have a couple of early offerings.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Mar 07, 2011 @ 18:38:51

      I was thinking runners as they’re not as water-oriented as most ducks, and I’ve seen them used for herding trials in lieu of sheep, but Cayugas are pretty. And of course, there’s always watch-geese! Murray McMurray Hatchery will even do barnyard mixes and discount straight-run lots if you don’t mind being surprised. I’d just need to figure out a place to set up a safe brooding area in the house that the cats can’t get into!

      May, hmmm? Jared does have some nice ones, and of course there are a few who popped up last year that might turn up again who raced until the end and haven’t started at other tracks over the winter…we’ll see how the long the stall is empty!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

