Chillin’

At some point, yes, I’m going to the barn. But yesterday, besides work, there were whiteouts on the roads. Today, they still haven’t plowed on my road, and the “high” temperature today was about 20. Since we don’t have an indoor and Lucky resembles a yak at the moment, there wouldn’t be much point in any case.

Tomorrow, however, I’m hoping to get out there, and bring Lucky an early “real” birthday present (his actual foaling date was February 12.)

Here’s a sneak preview:

And thank you for all the good thoughts for Mr. Jet! He seems to be doing much better. Here is a picture after he came home from two nights at the vet, being inspected by Mr. Marcus:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 18:22:24

    I’m glad that Mr. Jet is feeling better. He is a seriously beautiful cat. High temp today here was 9 degrees. It’s a bit after 6 PM, and down to 3 degrees already.

    Reply

    • The Author
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 18:46:52

      Up at my parents’ it’s already down to -2 and they had a low of -19 last night! They’ve had to carry water out to the barn cats as the faucet’s frozen. It’s not quite so bad here, but still not anything I’d want to be out in. I guess it was in the teens for my brother’s barn yesterday (Duchess Co. NY) so his lesson horse got a light ride, a wool cooler, and hot mash for dinner. Which doesn’t really sound all that bad from a human perspective, really.

      Reply

  2. Natalie Keller Reinert
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 18:11:04

    Have I told you recently how much I used to LOVE Lucky Lionel? I just used to admire his picture in the stallion registry…

    Reply

    • The Author
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 20:39:52

      No, I don’t think you have! Well, here’s one of his babies! 😉 I think he’s a looker, myself, though right now it’s more ‘looks like a musk ox.’ Florida babies weren’t meant for this kind of snow. Poor Lucky has some serious winter fuzz going on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

