This Is The Fairgrounds…

Where the Fair is held. Any questions so far? (Geek props to anyone who gets that reference.)

The on-deck. The warm-up/exercise ring is behind them, the show ring to my right. We should have such nice fencing at my old fair.

OMG black draft ponies! It's like mini-mes for Percherons! Want....

Disreputable-looking characters.

Best. Cake-decorating. Entry. EVER. (Yes, it won.)

4-H dads, setting up the dressage ring. My dad could sympathize.

Thank goodness for telephoto lenses.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:03:25

    Oh, my, gosh! Those draft horses in the pulling contest are wonderful! I must have missed an entry or two, somehow. I love the head shot of Lucky. He looks interested, but not upset. Just the way that I’d expect him to look.

    Reply

  2. The Author
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 12:46:21

    I think two or three back I posted about the fair–I only just now got a chance to upload photos!

    Lucky seemed…interested, but not overly worried, except by Takota having a nervous breakdown next to us. The other four in the back pastures (Trudy and the other boarders) wandered over, but it really seemed like no one was so much weirded out by the cart as by Takota having a tantrum.

    I’m anxious to meet the new boarder coming in to take the last stall–supposedly they have an OTTB as well. I’m curious to see how the new guy compares! And it’ll be nice for Lucky to have someone his own height around.

    Reply

  3. Natalie Keller Reinert
    Aug 29, 2010 @ 12:03:49

    That is like, a really cool fair. Like, I thought fairs were cool when I was a kid. But I was WRONG. Love it.

    Reply

  4. chris davison
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 09:31:47

    where were those black ponies from?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

