The Horses of DC

Sir John Dill, Arlington National Cemetery

Washington Circle

Pegasi are horses. Sort of.

Prezwalski's Horse at the National Zoo.

I am being nice, I took a lot more of these.

Smithsonian Carousel on the Mall

Yeah I rode it. So would you.

I rode the middle one. I rarely get to ride paints.

Phillip Kearney statue at Arlington.

Check out that bridle.

I like this one.

Hi there.

Check those ears!

He never says much for some reason.

Pretty.

I'm different!

Fun as it is . . .

. . . to horse around . . .

. . . our day job . . .

. . . is pretty important.

Thanks to Spec. Staples, USA, who showed me around Fort Myer’s Old Guard Caisson stables. The Large Ham (equine version) is Peter, the pretty girl is Minnie, sadly I do not remember the black Perch’s name, and the funeral I saw was for an Air Force Major General. For anyone who wants to visit, the stables are open noon to four for public visitors.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teresa
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 06:42:44

    What a fun post. Looks like you’re having a great time.

    Reply

  2. Louise
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 07:10:41

    I never would have thought that you could visit those stables.

    Reply

  3. Louise
    Jun 18, 2010 @ 07:12:17

    Well, hah, I hit enter too soon. It sounds like you managed to find plenty of horses in the big city. We horse people are single-minded, aren’t we?

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jun 18, 2010 @ 18:10:16

      To an absurd degree, really. My feet are KILLING me, but to get to Fort Myer (as I’m without a car) I went back to Arlington, walked across the cemetery uphill (UP hill) to the Chapel Gate, then across post. And even though I am in serious agony and questioning how I’ll handle a six-block ghost tour tonight, I really didn’t notice my feet hurting while we were in the barn (and I took up at least an hour of the guy’s time, but he seemed happy to talk with someone who knew horses.)

      Reply

  4. Natalie Keller Reinert
    Jun 20, 2010 @ 09:33:13

    Those are such beautiful pictures. NOW aren’t you glad you mastered putting photos onto your blog?

    Are those stables in/at Arlington? That has just moved to the top of my list for the next trip up (Oh, I mean down!)

    I grew up in Maryland and going to DC was part of our regularly scheduled programming. Somehow I never have ridden that carousel. My mother must have thought it was too expensive. Unrelated carousel story: If you ever go to the Magic Kingdom, there is a horse on the carousel with a golden ribbon on its tail – that is Cinderella’s horse. It can be hard to find in the mad dash to get on – all those little kids get in the way…

    Reply

  5. Linda
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 08:59:51

    Great pictures, looks like a fun trip to DC.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

