OW.

So, this post may contain typos. And will likely be short.

First, the horse is fine. I may, in fact, try swapping bits again. Possibly the kimberwicke (jointed), and see if a jointed bit is a little kinder now his own teeth aren’t gouging him. Lucky got an iodine bath, and at the vet’s suggestion he’s getting an extra dose of ivermectin. I knew that the hair loss and dandruff wasn’t sarcoids. I’m not 100% that it’s parasites and not fungus, but that’s what the vet suggests. So I picked up an extra dose at TSC after the barn. The BO, by the way, said that he did seem to be eating a little funny Friday night, but is fine now. His mouth looks good, and he seemed less reluctant about the bit (but still vague on steering.)

Now, the reason for typos/brevity: while walking the dogs after I got home from the barn I stumbled, and when I put down my hand to break the fall and broke my finger. A man stopped driving by, and the lady who lives in the house nearest was out with her dog saw and came over after he drove off. Her name is Kathy, and she’s seen us walking by before. She drove me and the dogs back to my house (a little over a mile–without the dogs I could probably have walked, but my hand was very sore) and I decided to drive myself in to the ER. (If I had a manual, that probably would have been a lot harder.) Our local ER has a thirty-minute guarantee to be seen by a doctor, and I’ll give them that, it only took a little over two hours total. Upshot is, I have an intracapsular break on the middle finger of my right hand-basically, I broke the middle joint. I heard something crack as it hit the pavement and it was pretty swollen and I couldn’t move it, so I was pretty sure it was a break. I have a splint, and a scrip for the 600mg ibuprofen they gave me to bring down the swelling.

So, we’ll see how the barn goes. Lucky may have to learn how to neck-rein fast.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    May 03, 2010 @ 06:35:10

    Ouch! I’m so sorry that you broke the joint in your finger! Hope that the ibuprofen works quickly to reduce the swelling and the pain.

    I have to admit that you gave me a bit of anxiety when I saw the title to your blog. The first thing I thought of was that Lucky dumped you. It would have been very out of character, and I’m very glad it wasn’t the case.

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      May 03, 2010 @ 16:13:09

      Oh, if I ever come off Lucky, and I’m sure I will at some point, it’ll likely be my own damn fault for not being ready. Though he did decide to be a butt today about taking the bit, when I could barely use my left hand bridling him.

      Reply

  2. Jessica
    May 09, 2010 @ 01:08:13

    Ow, indeed! You are braver than I am.. I broke my arm (coming off the “good” horse, not the OTTB, mostly because I wasn’t ready but also because she has acquired some bad habits) 3+ weeks ago and haven’t been back aboard either horse, yet. I am just not willing to risk re-injury! I know, what a wuss, eh?

    Happy healing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

