Nothin’ like…

…sittin’ in McDonald’s with a coffee and WiFi in smelly barn clothes. Covered in shedding hair. Also, I did the stall today. Don’t like it, sit somewhere else.

Today was a short ride, not so much for behavior as because I did ride longer than anticipated yesterday and because of BUGS! Yech. Little, pesky, in-your-face bugs. Lucky fussed about having fly spray wiped on his ears, but then complained the whole time we were out with head-tossing and snorting and trying not to breathe in bugs, while I tried not to snort and shake MY head.

We went in the big ring today, and I figured just some walk/trot and maybe some poles. Besides one little rush that might have been an aborted spook, he was good, except for a little stopping and the constant head-shaking because of the bugs. For which I could not blame him. They were insanely annoying. We worked a bit on going forward and straight over the poles, and then I gave up. He’d gotten a long grooming so I figured a short ride was fair. We did an open the gate from the back and rode out, with no explosions a la yesterday, and I dismounted at the barn. He was ready to go in and this time he was a great deal more cooperative about having his ears done! He also got liniment for the legs, and iodine on the patchy spots. The ones we’ve been treating with iodine and bag balm look better, at least, so hopefully this will clear up with care. After he went back out I did his stall–I’m on full board, but the BO is off at a training thing this weekend in Ohio and J. is watching the barn, so I figured I might as well do it so he doesn’t have to.

Since I’m on high-speed, here are some other pictures:

Lucky riding by the scary woods of doom!

Free kitten, anyone?

Battery is starting to go and so should I. Ought to get home and walk the dogs.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Louise
    Apr 11, 2010 @ 16:27:56

    That kitten is adorable. No bugs here yet, but they won’t be far behind yours’. That is one of the things that I really love about winter — no bugs.

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Apr 11, 2010 @ 19:09:40

      That is one of the things that I really love about winter — no bugs.

      That is EXACTLY what I was thinking today. Riding in the snow’s a pain but bugs are misery. When I was putting Lucky (freshly fly-sprayed) back in the pasture Dino came up begging for an ear scritch. And the other three in the big pasture have a flock of cowbirds following them everywhere. Eat more bugs, birds!

      Kitten is very cute. Obviously recovered from being dumped in the BO’s driveway. Puff (my COTH Giveaway dog) is very patient–he’ll be sitting waiting to go out and she’ll roll over under his front paws and start rabbit kicking him. I REALLY don’t need a third cat but unless I can convince my friend in SE MI to take her (she’s just moving into a house, and she lost her female cat last year very suddenly and has a very lonely male) I may be stuck with her. The dogs might not let me give her away.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

