Get Fuzzy

Well, at the barn for the first time in almost two weeks today. There is no problem with Lucky getting a suitable winter coat in. Sadly, it’s also making it evident that he could also use a bath like yesterday. He has dandruff (which is probably a reflection of diet change) and his coat is now long and thick enough to get nice and dirty when he rolls. Right now, there’s powder snow on the ground again so he can’t get TOO dirty, but once the ground thaws I foresee lots of mud baths.

I saw no sign of any stomach troubles. If anything, I might suggest it’s time to start slowly upping his grain intake. He’s not super-skinny, but I suspect he’s not going to be an air fern, either. Especially as cold as it’s been getting–I’m getting frostbite on my face walking the dogs (who are enjoying increasingly longer walks. Good for Tucker, who needs to trim down, and good for me! I’m never motivated to exercise in the winter.)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foundationmare
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 22:27:05

    I have 3 TBs in my care now. One is a money pit as he requires frequent fresh bedding, lots of grain and lots and lots of hay. I can see his ribs! Aaargh. He was dewormed 6 days ago and I’m going to hit him again this weekend. I’m losing money on this guy but I can’t let him go down the slippery slope. He’s bright and eager, just not so thrifty!

    As you are discovering, these OTTBs have greater caloric/nutritional requirements than the average bear: my hay bill has gone through the roof!

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jan 30, 2010 @ 12:04:31

      We never really fed my old horse more than I would think of as unusual. I’m also trying not to overdo it on the grain–the last thing I want is too much energy. Actually my biggest thing right now is I need to get the biotin into him. I suspect his coat quality and the dandruff will improve drastically once he gets that going. At least my barn grows its own hay, so we don’t have to worry about buying any.

      Reply

  2. Natalie Keller Reinert
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 17:42:18

    I have had so much luck since I switched to Strategy and free-choice Timothy and Alfalfa.. Has anyone else tried this combo?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

