It’s always something…

The trouble with horses is they have an uncanny sense of timing. I’m away this weekend with the dogs, visiting my parents’ for the weekend. So of course I open my e-mail to find notes from my B.O. Lucky was apparently feeling lethargic when she fed yesterday morning, and behaved as if his sides were tender. (She did try to call, but my notoriously unreliable cell phone strikes again.) He wasn’t, however, showing any serious distress–no striking at himself, no rolling, no sweats or biting at his sides. The vet tech who came out didn’t think it was colic, and it didn’t sound like it. More e-mails back and forth and he is eating his hay, drinking, and passing waste normally, but still acting as if his belly was tender. No more updates since this morning, and the BO was going to be home all day.

We were theorizing, and ulcers did come up. First we’re going to try withdrawing the biotin supplement that I added this week and see if that changes anything (though I don’t know what in it would be bothering him, unless he’s sensitive to rice bran.) If he continues to act like he’s got something bothering him, we’ll have the vet out. Yes, ulcers were the first thing that occurred to me–I’m sure he’s had bute at some point, even if he didn’t habitually run on it, and he’s undergone some major lifestyle changes (shipping up from Florida this spring and being claimed in New York, moving again to Michigan) while also having had an injury (quarter grab, nothing major but still painful). So he is probably a prime candidate for them.

And in other, happier news, for those who have been reading, meet Tucker, the corgi:

She’s just recovering from her visit to the vet. Itchy stitches, and itchy shaved hair. Better than heat cycles and puppies, but right now she doesn’t get that.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 00:55:04

    Eating, drinking, and pooping are all good signs.

    Lena is actually our colic worry. When she won’t eat and starts to snuggle, we call the vet.

    Bar gives me lots of things to worry about, but colic has not yet been one of them. (Knock wood). And boy does he hate Bute. With a passion. I’ve only given it to him twice in the last two years, and have since decided he better be limping or worse.

    Good luck! I’m sure Lucky will be okay.

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jan 24, 2010 @ 11:02:30

      Yeah, like I said to Louise above, I’m not sure how big a difference the local hay is from what he’s been used to eating, he’s had a big change in level of activity–as long as he doesn’t seem to acutely colicing I’m inclined to think he may just be adjusting now that he’s been “down” for a while and his shoes are off. He HAS had a stressful last year!

      Reply

  2. Louise
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 01:06:19

    Tucker is adorable. And, ulcers are a pretty good possibility. As you know, lots of TB’s come off of the track with them.

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jan 24, 2010 @ 10:55:05

      Tucker KNOWS she’s cute, too! (She also likes to herd cats.) I’m also wondering if, since he tends to have loud gut sounds, he might be adapting to the hay-the barn grows their own local timothy mix, and I don’t know how different that is from what he was getting fed in New York. Total change of diet and activity level probably takes some adjusting. Since he’s not showing any signs of an impaction or twist, I’ll see if it works itself out.

      Reply

  3. Natalie Keller Reinert
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 10:30:54

    Ahh I can’t stand horses sometimes! Wah wah my belly hurts! 🙂

    If the biotin is alfalfa meal-based, as a lot are, one would think that would shield his stomach, because of the calcium content. I use Probios with a pretty free hand whenever anyone’s manure loosens up, or they travel, or they look at me funny…

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jan 24, 2010 @ 10:50:55

      The only ingredient I remember is rice bran, and rice is about as neutral as it gets (white rice is what you start food allergy patients on because almost no one reacts to it) and there really wasn’t anything on the list that leapt out as unusual. As a rule, he has loud gut noises and no problem passing waste, so I’m leaning towards an ulcer–or just a gassy system. I don’t know what hay mix they were feeding at the track, so he might also just be adapting to the local timothy mix.

      Reply

  4. SprinklerBanditq
    Jan 29, 2010 @ 15:17:48

    When we had our corgi neutered, he was woozy for precisely as long as it took for the anesthesia to wear off. I couldn’t slow him down after that.

    Reply

    • luckytocope
      Jan 29, 2010 @ 18:50:10

      Oh, slow is not a problem. She’s also now able to scratch again instead of sit there trying to stretch around and not be able to. At least with the short legs, I can keep up. When the shepherd/greyhound mix decides to sprint, I just let him go and catch up later.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

